Music: GrooveLily - A Little Midsummer Night's Music (2006)

GrooveLily - A Little Midsummer Night's Music
This CD documents the songs New York trio GrooveLily wrote and performed for director Tina Landau's musical take on Shakespeare's A Midsummer Night's Dream. Don't be fooled by an album title that brings to mind A Little Night Music, however. We are not in Sondheim territory here, but in a benign, lite-jazzy, lite-funky environment. In the liner notes, Landau explains that the show was "GrooveLily's dream of Shakespeare's play." And so the band, led by violinist-singer Valerie Vigoda, wrote (and performed onstage) songs inspired by the characters; they are grouped thematically on the CD.

1. When I Dream
2. Overture
3. Titania Suite
4. Fairy Suite
5. Malevolent Oberon Suite
6. While You Were Sleeping
7. Lysander Wakes: And Run Through Fire
8. Demitrius Wakes: Oh, Helen
9. Benevolent Oberon Suite
10. Slings of Eros/Bergomask Dance/Bows
11. All Shall Be Well

No password

34 MB, 128kbps

No comments: